Ecoflex 00-20 patch and seam

Hi! I'm new to this world, I've always been a fan and wanted to try my hands at it for the first time.

So, I'm actually learning my way through many online courses here.  I've done the 3 courses that Immortal Masks made and I'm now learning the patching and seaming. The thing is: I want to use Ecoflex 00-20, like immortal do, but in the patching and seaming class, they are using Platsil gel. So they don't explain what to use if you cast your first mask with ecoflex 00-20.
So my question is:
Is there a plasticizer / deadener to add to the ecoflex 00-20 part A you kept for the patch and seam step. To my understanding: you have to mix part A + deadener with part B and then add ure-fil 9 to thicken the mix to a peanut butter consistency. I just can't seam to find the plasticizer / deadener info and ratio?

Also in the patch and seam class, they are talking about a Psychopaint coat to bond the initial cast to the patch. Is this something you have to do with Ecoflex too?

Since this is a crucial step in the finishing process, I want to have all the information I need to avoid waste haha
Anybody can put me in the right direction?
Thanks a lot

Comments

• Hi @MaxLevL - here's some advice from Patching & Seaming master Chris Grossnickle:

Ecoflex is awesome and a completely different animal when it comes to running skins and patching, but when mastered it's great, especially for a quick fix. However, it is temperamental and you need to do certain things when using it.

There is no deadener, that's the cool thing about Ecoflex 20, it has oil already in it. But this fact can contribute to pain if you don't do certain things.

You do not need a Psycho Paint seal.

If you run this material it should be patched within a day for good bonding. W