GTA 5 Space Monkey Mask

edited January 2015 in General
I am very new to this, but I have been asked to make the space monkey (Pogo) mask from GTA 5. This will be my first job to do. I have thought about it and figured I would try it. It's my first job in this, so how can I say no. He wants to where it for Halloween this year, plus for selfies. I figured a typical latex mask would work. If it is too loose. I will try to put poly foam in it to help it fit better. I am very excited and am going to get started right now. I could use any help on how to do stuff, so I will probably be asking as I get to them. So far everything I will be using I got from Hobby Lobby. I believe the only thing that won't be coming from Hobby Lobby is the latex.

Comments

• Great project, I loved all the masks in GTA5.  Latex poured into an ultracal/hydrocal mold would work great for that mask. 

If you have any questions during your project I'd be happy to help answer them here.

Best of luck!

/Chris
  • Sounds like a lot of fun! Best of luck to you! :)
  • Sculpting is first, I have only gotten to work on it for a few hours so far. I had a little trouble with the sculpt. I just didn't look right, so I had to take a step back and started adding and removing clay. Finally found out the face was to long. I will take a pic and upload it today, once I get home from my job that gives me the money for my hobby, lol.
  • When replicating an existing piece, reference photos and calipers can come in very handy.

Find a head-on render of the mask and take a series of measurements like:  top of head to bottom of chin, width of head, width/height of eye, spacing between eyes, height of outer edge of eyes from top of head, height of outer edge of eyes from bottom of head, ear location/dimensions, width/height of mouth, nose, etc.    Then do the same for the side perspective (and top if you can find it)