aspiring novice :P

I'm brand new to sculpting, definitely a serious learning process, but an absolute joy!!

This is a WIP obviously, but it's the first thing I've felt even close to worthy of sharing.
I started with intentions of a shrunken head, but somewhere along the way I saw a cartoon bulldog instead lol I found a pic similar to what I had in my head, and this is where I am now... Thoughts, advice, jokes, slanderous remarks? lol
Seriously though I would like some honest opinions :D

I'm working with sculpey.. not a huge fan of the bubbleyumminess of it, but I'm getting a feel for it lol

Comments

• great form from what I can see, can you post several more photos all the way around?

• Here you go.. The lower face is all I have focused on, I still need to build up the top, shape the sides, and the back is nothing more than a safe place to grip right now. I will blend the top of the nose in as I start building up eyes and brow.
  • It does have great form, be careful with the tongue if there is no armature in it, and I am learning a new respect for Sculpey. I just started my second Sculpey sculpture and you're right it's kind of bubblegummy in texture.
  • there is 20 gauge wire framing the tongue, and I'm still messing it up left and right lol Too easy to bump into. Gonna block in the other eye then I'm callin it a day.. return to it with a fresh head later tonight
  • edited October 2013
    Looks like a soliod start, would like to see progress on this one. so far the form looks great to me
  • didnt devote much time tonight, but here is where things stand. I hit a bit of sculptor's block I guess... I'm having trouble envisioning rounding out the sides, and I thought 'if I can't see it, I can't sculpt it' so I decided to walk away rather than tinker it to death
  • Looks like a great foundation! Can't wait to see the continued progress!