Szass Tam *Completed*

Hello again.

A while back I posted my entry for a 100% scratch built Szass Tam costume where I made the head out of a bike helmet, paintball mask, the skin was hot glue and I made electronics in it for lights and voice. 

I was pretty proud of the costume, however on reflection it seemed showing off what I figured out on my own and less leveraging anything I've learned from the Stan Winston School. 

This is my submission to showcase skills learned from a course here. 

A little background. 

I'm a mid 40's contract jockey. I sit in a cube all day reviewing contracts, running them through the garden of regulation and seeing where I can poke holes in them. That's what I do for 50 hours a week. I'm autistic, so I don't turn off. It's an advantage and disadvantage at the same time. 

I'm a self taught artist, and in one of the classes here I learned that what I do is called "kit bashing", so that's my art style. I take a few things, fuse them together and make something new. So taking a paintball mask and a bike helmet to make the original mask falls under that kit bashing umbrella. 

I learned the term kit bashing here on this site from the video that landed me here. There's a dude with a pony tail teaching how to make a helmet and a vacuum former. Outstanding video, amazing teacher. I'm looking forward to that build quite a bit. I had also watched a dude sculpt a droopy face monster and mold it. That was my first introduction to sculpting, I viewed it to learn ho to make a Klingon headpiece for a cosplay wedding. 

For this submission I started from scratch. I watched a video of a long haired dude making a wolfman mask. It was the closest I could find to the idea of making a guy with a living metal skull. 

This is my 5th attempt at sculpture, and I'm going to show the bad stuff I want to hide as well as what I feel is a success. At the time of this post I've made significant progress.