Sightless Alien - Hannah Moon, IG moonrisefx

Sightless Alien

Hello! My name is Hannah Moon I am a recent graduate from the Vocational Academy of Makeup and Prosthetics in Orlando, Florida. I am entering my sightless alien from my final project. My inspiration came from an artist named Tanoo Choorat. I came across his beautiful maquette online and decided to make it come to life. My alien is a custom multiple piece silicone project.

For this test, I also wanted to challenge myself and make some sort of attachment. Months back I saw Rick Bakers tongue appliance and could barely keep the vomit back every time I looked at it, so I figured that that was what I needed to make. 

My background story goes that it is an alien that had committed a hefty crime on his planet. He was to be sent to a planet with similar means of an oubliette alone to fend for himself, but before that, his eyes and ears were taken away. He was also fashioned with a pillory like in medieval times. The pillory bound his neck and wrists making it almost impossible to eat. For the final slap on the wrist, they attached a metal arm with a treble hook over his head and out of reach. On the treble hook was a savory, bloody piece of meat dangling forever out of reach. Unable to see, hear or reach the piece of flesh, the alien just wanders around starving and smelling the sweet meal. 

I started with the sculpt on my models life cast. 

From there, I sculpted teeth over my models dental impressions and made him a custom pair I thought would work well with my alien. 

While I floated my alien pieces off, I painted the teeth and set them aside.

I took one of the weekends to drive home and build the pillory. 

Once the two pieces floated, I molded one at a time in silicone and then resin and fiberglass.