How to approach fx studios?

Hi everyone, 
I work as an Art teacher in public school, but when night comes, I become a creature maker, designing, sculpting and painting my own creations. I want to make my passion a full time dayjob. Today, I really want to jump in and start to look for a job in the monster making industry and I have a few questions about that.
First of all, what kind of job a monster designer and sculptor can get? What are the different possibilities for me to live from my sculptures, beyond the cinema industry? I live in France, and sculpting monsters is not very common and popular here... I have to admit that I don't really know how to start my job search.

I've just finished to select pictures of my work for my portfolio, but I don't know which form I should give to it. Especially if I send it by e-mail. What organism should I contact, and how can I do it?

I know there is a lot of questions here, but if someone has some answers or advices to provide, it would be really helpfull for me!!

Best, 
Florian.

Comments

• Hi Barthe, 

Unlike a traditional career as a doctor or lawyer or tradesman, there's not a straight path to becoming a professional monster maker. Every journey is unique.

Fortunately, there are many ways to fulfill your passion. You don't have to work in films or television to create creatures and characters.

Here's a few other career possibilities for someone who enjoys making monsters:
    • Action-Figure, Toy and Collectibles Industry
    • Live Themed Entertainment (Walking with Dinosaurs, etc.)
    • Amusement Park Character Maker
    • Haunt Attractions
    • Mask Making Industry