Options

Foam latex

I am going to make a foam latex oven based on the plans from stop motion magazine, and was wondering... can I bake the foam indoors? Or should I keep the oven outside? I've never done it before, so I don't know. I have heard that it smells, which is why I'm weary of putting the oven indoors.

Comments

• Options
    Hi Troy,

As long as the space is well ventilated you should be fine.  Also, take safety precautions to prevent fire, such as keeping the oven away from flammable objects, having a fire extinguisher nearby, and watching it closely.  Foam ovens are generally relatively safe due to their low temperatures, but with homemade solutions, it's best to be on the safe side. 

/Chris
  • Options
    Seconding what Chris said.  Foam is extremely stinky, so if by indoors you mean your house, I would strongly urge you to avoid this.  Most indoor foam ovens are positioned on or around a fume hood that siphons off the fumes, and even in those environments the smell is still detectable and often strong.
  • Options
    Okay, thanks. Yes, I was going to build it indoors (in home) but won't now. Seems like a really tedious process!
  • Options
    Darrell GreenDarrell Green ✭✭✭
    edited June 2023