Intro Duction ( Newbie Zone)

edited December 2015 in General
Hi guys! My name is Joe Humpston (although some might already know me from YouTube as Dinoman217) I'm 21 years young, and I'm an American Special Effects artist from Charleston SC. I've been doing special effects for YouTube since I was in High School! At age sixteen, I watched the 1984 Sci-Fi classic "The Terminator" on NETFLIX. I saw it, and I was inspired to do a number of special effects tests in my own time! One of the first big special effects tests that I did was I fabricated Captain America shield from a used satellite dish. (You can click here to see it) In this thread you can tell me a bit about yourselves. When did you start doing Special Effects, what was your inspiration for doing it, and what was the first effect that you ever did?
Post edited by Joseph Humpston on

Comments

• Hi Joe,

Welcome to our community!  I'll make sure and check out your YouTube channel.  Terminator is a great and inspiring film.

I was first inspired at a far-too-young age by slasher films like "Sleepaway Camp," "Friday The 13th," and "Nightmare on Elm Street."  But films like Videodrome, The Thing, Predator, and Jurassic Park really got me hooked.

I also got ahold of a VHS tape called "This Is Horror" aka "From the archives of Stephen King's World of Horror - This is Horror" which is packed full of amazing behind the scenes footage of special effects artists from a wide variety of projects.  You can find a bit more info about the VHS here.  

My other big influence was Fangoria magazine.

My first full effects makeup was Freddy from "Nightmare on Elm Street," when I was around 10.

/Chris