help making witch fingernails

edited January 2015 in General
so i need to make a really long and nasty looking set of false fingernails for a witch character im creating. im a student studying special effects make-up. its really important to me that i create these nails just like the pros would if it was for an actual film. it just makes sure my work is industry relevant and im up to date with the current techniques. i only need the actual nails no finger extensions of any sort. I was wondering if anyone could offer me any advice on how i would make these? ive seen a lot of DIY videos on you tube showing how to make nails but weather or not this is the correct and most safe way to make them im not sure. thank you  

Comments

• Here's how I've made fake nails in the past.  (This is just one of any number of possible ways, but it's worked for me!)

1. Find some clear plastic sheet material that is about the same thickness as the nail you wish to create.   Some possible sources are: overhead projection transparencies, lamination plastic, plastic water bottles/jugs that are not corrugated, or any online plastic retailer.  I've had good luck with Fiji plastic water bottles as a cheap/refreshing source of clear flat plastic.
    2. Place the clear plastic over your subject's nails and trace the outline of their nail bed, and then sketch your custom nail design for each finger around that.  Use a pencil/marker that can easily be removed, like a grease or fabric pencil.  (a little 99% isopropyl alcohol can help remove most marks from other pencils/pens)
    3. Cut out the nail shapes using scissors or a knife.
    4. Find a cylindrical object with a curve that matches the lateral (side-to-side) curve of your subject's fingernails.  This object should not be heat sensitive as heat is used later.  Soda cans work great, I prefer smaller cans like Red Bull as their radius is a bit smaller, so the curve better matches that of a human nail.