Any other newbies here?

I'm totally new to the whole special effects makeup thing.  I've wanted to do it since I was a kid, and am finally able to invest some real time in it.  I feel a bit intimidated given the quality of other peoples artistic ability here lol  I have never sculpted anything but a not so bouncy clay ball heh.  Anyways, just curious if I'm the only one this green here, and maybe if anyone has some tips/pointers.  I've learned a TON so far, and a lot of the tutorials are good about approaching this from a ground level standpoint, especially the Garage Monsters series.  But like I said, I'm a bit intimidated, even to participate in the webinars.. all I can see is the artist asking to view my progress and me having nothing but a nondescript gelatinous blob to show for my time lol

Best Answer

Answers

• Hey Chris,
    We all start at some point and why not learn here at the SWSCA? Everyone here on the forums have been nothing but supportive and has a willingness to learn and explore their talents. Even though you might think your skill level is not up to par with other participants, you might surprise yourself in what you produce here. Remember that everyone (even those 30 years in the business) are always learning.

Don't let the work here intimidate you- we combine technology and art to produce the most spectacular things. Everyone that I have meet here celebrates that and sees the good in it all.