Living and crafting in an appartment building, how did you do it?

Hi everyone,

I really want to learn and  practice making props, sculpting and making replicas. But I feel very limited with what I can build due to living in a smaller space and being unable to work outside in winter due to the cold and snow.

Renting a Garage or similar location isn't an option for me at the moment. I am still very new to this and while I am ready to invest in courses, material and time, a second rent isn't something I could afford.

So I must ask, has anyone been in this situation and how did you do it? What did you start with or how did you manage spray painting, airbrushing, working with resin and so on. I want to be as safe as possible, I'm also living with my boyfriend and our pets, so I'm not comfortable using chemicals if I can't work in a well ventilated area away from them.

Thank you!

Comments

• I am in the same boat actually and with the cold weather as well! I luckily had an extra small office sized room in my old apartment I was able to use with a small table to sculpt and work on. I now have a little workbench in my basement (still not ideal in the winter months) but it works for now, and I brought my plaster molds upstairs into my bedroom so they wouldn't get moldy or crack. Just use whatever space you have! I even sculpted and painted in my living room for a while. 

The spray painting and airbrushing might be a little tougher. Maybe make a spray paint box out of any old boxes to use outside and then bring your projects back in to dry. If you have any fans to put on them to get any residual fumes out. Or ask any friends or family members that have garage spaces if you could use them for painting in.

Hope this helps somewhat!