Sculptures with Animatronics

Hi Everyone,

I am a performance artist and sculptor. I study Art and Technology and Integrated Media at CalArts. I am trying to add animatronics to my sculpture practice. I posted on some facebook groups and they introduced me to the video courses here which have been very helpful. I have to really just get started at this point but there is something I don't quite understand. I think I need to tackle making the animatronics first such as mouth and eye mechanisms. Then I will worry about making the skeletal head and the silicone skin. Should I create a base and use a stand to mount the animatronics on? I'm not quite sure how to assemble them so that I can apply the silicone and have it stand upright. I hope my question makes sense. I'd appreciate any help and advice I can get.

thank you,

Christine

christinegaffney.com

Comments

• edited January 2022
    Hi Christine,

Normally an animatronic character will have a rigid shell under the skin to support everything.  Inside that shell, you can bolt/epoxy a framework to hold all your components.

When I'm working on components and they are outside of a character I usually use an extruded aluminum construction system like 80/20, Makerbeam, or Actobotics to support everything.

Here is an eye mech I made from one of our lessons, and in the video you can see 10x10mm "Makerbeam" used to build a stand for the mech.

Hope that helps!

/Chris
  • Thank you so much! I followed you on IG. I'm also wondering if there is anyone in LA who is doing this kind of work that I might be able to see it in person. I'm having trouble even getting started on the animatronics at this point. I don't know if I should start with making the skin and the rigid skull or if I should start with the animatronic eyes or mouth. Do you have any advice for a work flow trajectory?