Help? Medical Training Wearable Wounds

Hello Everyone,

Many moons ago I used to work in the industry, but got out of it to pursue another career. I have always dabbled in it for fun which lead to me being asked to create wearable gunshot wounds for a active shooter awareness course. The course is designed to help paramedics and firefighters deal with injuries in the event of one of these terrible tragedies. 

The lead instructor has asked me to create a wearable, reusable, and realistic looking wound that the students can practice packing the wounds (shoving gauze in to stop the bleeding) while on an actor. The instructor would like it to also bleed to simulate an actual wound. 

I have been asked if A) this is possible and B) what he would be looking at in terms of cost. 

Using the knowledge and experience I have, I have come up with an idea for how it could work, but I admittedly am quite far behind on modern techniques and materials. I am wondering if you guys could help me work through a possible solution?

If so... please read on. 

First, I live in Canada so that does mean I am somewhat limited in what types of materials I can get. A few stores in my area still exist and carry a lot of silicones, resins, and the like, so I can probably get what I need, but I will be limited to certain brands. 

What I was thinking was creating a large silicone appliance that could be strapped (velcro) to the actor in the appropriate places. A tube could run from within the appliance to a syringe which I think is pretty standard. This would allow it to bleed. 

Where I am getting lost is what technique would be best for this. 

My initial thoughts are to take a life cast of the armpit and hip / leg out of Smooth-on life cast silicone. Then make a resin or Ultracal positive to sculpt on. Sculpt the wound(s) and then take a silicone cast of them.

Here is where it gets complicated.