Options

Suggestions for 2 Part Epoxacoat Grey Mold w/o a Release Agent

I am new to this hobby/more than a hobby and am attempting to create my first full head silicone mask (referred to as a half mask). I’ve been following the videos, sculpted out the head and and neck from chavant medium, built up my clay wall, sprayed the release agent on the front side w/2 coats before beginning my mold, and finished out the front side exactly as the video instructed. When I flipped the mold over however, I got a little ahead of myself after cleaning out the last few remnants of the clay wall and immediately began with my epoxacoat grey layer on the back. I realized what I had done right away and wiped some of it away to add my pry points, but at that point it was too late to add the release agent to the back side. From there I just crossed my fingers/hoped for the best and continued on with the process until my fiberglass layers were complete. My question now is - how much trouble am I in? My front side cured about 3-4 days before I got to the back side, so will  the back layer of epoxacoat grey still bond to it or will it just be more difficult (but possible) for me to pry the 2 halves apart? I guess I’ll find out tomorrow evening when I begin prying, but I’m hoping this just means cleaning out the clay will be more difficult and that I’ll have no real issue separating each half of the mold. 🤞

Answers

• Options
    edited May 2021
    You're not the first person to make the mistake of forgetting to add release between the halves.  There's a lot to keep track of when making a mold.  I think it's something we all have to do at least once to serve and a permanent reminder never to forget it again. 

What has likely happened is the two halves are permanently joined.  If you try to pry them apart and find they don't budge with reasonable force (don't risk snapping anything), here's what I would do.