Degrees or certificates?

Hello everyone,
I'm looking for some resources for my child.  My youngest will be a rising high school senior this fall and is interested in pursuing a career in practical effects.  Most of the programs (except this one) seem to be focused on CGI/Animation or even just generic cinematography.  Where does one go to learn to join the ranks at Legacy Effects, Weta Workshop, etc? 

We've played with a variety of stuff here (raspberry pi servos, chain maille fab, lots of cosplay sewing, HS art classes, etc.)....there's a definite interest and the classes here are a true blessing right now with everything closed. I'm an IT guy/tinkerer so this is a bit out of my realm...

Any help or advice will be most appreciated. Apologies if this is answered elsewhere.  A quick forum search on degrees results in a lot of servo talk.

Thank you,
Tim

Comments

• Hello! I am a college student right now with the same problem. I want to be a costume designer and puppet fabricator and my parents want me to get a degree, but it is hard to find. I have done a ton of research to find a college and what I found works best for me is to take these Stan Winston School classes and hop around different community college art and theatre production classes. I did this because I wanted to stay in LA. If your willing to go international, I think there is a good program through the University of Arts London. I think it is theatre focused but they teach animatronics, sculpture, casting, prosthetics, etc. https://www.arts.ac.uk/subjects/performance-and-design-for-theatre-and-screen/undergraduate/ba-hons-technical-arts-for-theatre-and-performance-wimbledon#coursedetails Other than that there is a puppet course at University of Connecticut https://drama.uconn.edu/programs/puppet-arts/bfa-puppet-arts/ but that is all I know of. It seems like a lot of people don't get degrees and just start working but I am not sure. Good luck and I hope maybe this will help. It's hard to find a prog