Totally not the norm here art wise but anyone have Skin Illustrator/silicone advise?

Hi there my name's Christina and I'm a doll artist.  I sculpt, mold, cast, paint, and punch hair.  Up until now I've been hand painting each doll using psycho paint and silc pig/SAM paints.  I dont like the hue the silicone pigments give off so I decided to join the school and watch the tutorials on prosthetic painting.  Knowledge is always a good thing.  I liked the idea of the skin iillustrator liquid paints so I used them with silpoxy and naptha.  It is finicky curing.  It takes a lot longer to cure than dragon skin.  

Since I'm making dolls they get handled a lot and I am constantly looking for the best ways to make sure I have the best adhesion possible which includes rigorous cleaning, etc.  I find that the skin illustrators since they are alcohol based are finicky. I've had an occasion where the silpoxy and skin iillustrator didnt fully cure.  Has anyone else tried mixing skin illustrators with Silpoxy by any chance? Any words of wisdom? Attached a pic for fun.  Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Skin illustrator would be more temporary on an application like this, since it would eventually wear off the surface unless encapsulated by a thin layer of silicone.  You could airbrush on thin layers of skin illustrator then airbrush on some silicone to encapsulate it though.

Otherwise when it comes to painting silicone the best bet is to use silicone paints (the ones you mentioned) or to make your own using oil paints and silicone.

Here are a couple of our lessons that may help:

Painting Silicone Skin - Realistic Flesh Tones
    https://www.stanwinstonschool.com/tutorials/silicone-painting-realistic-flesh-tones-vol-1

How To Paint Realistic Silicone Skin - Silicone Painting Techniques
    https://www.stanwinstonschool.com/tutorials/hyper-realistic-silicone-painting-techniques

Hope that helps!

/Chris
  • Micah J.Micah J. ✭✭✭
    edited December 2018