Creature Building and Durability

edited January 2015 in General

I am new to creature building. I have been asked to do a Shrek creature and makeup with a limited budget. I have been contemplating what would be the most cost effective way to accomplish the task.  My concern is if we would have the ability to re-use the same cowl and prosthetics several times and it still hold its integrity. What is the most cost effective way to do this and what materials would be best?  I have seen some pre fab cowls that are made from a slush latex. Which seems like it may be the affordable way to go. This somehow does not seem durable enough to re utilize over and over. Suggestions on what materials would be the best?

Post edited by Katie Kenworthy on

Comments

• Some appliances can be used a couple times if you are extremely careful, but it will take a lot of extra work to get them looking good the second time.  Your blending edges will need a bit more work.   For example, on an encapsulated silicone appliance you'll have a great blending edge during the first application that gets melted off into the skin.  The second time you apply it much of that edge will be gone, so blending becomes more difficult.  Gelatin appliances will ave a similar issue, as the blending process for them also involves a solvent that dissolves their edges into the skin.  Gelatin also breaks down during shooting due heat (from the actor's body or the set) and movement, so having them survive a day is a bit of a gamble depending on what you are shooting.

If you are using latex based appliances you'll have some trouble if you are using an adhesive like pros-aide, as the removers for the adhesive also break down latex.  So you may want to use a more expensive adhesive like Telesis 5.