Options

Asagi from Jrock band D (Ouka Saki Some ni Keri)

edited April 2017 in Cosplay Contest
Hello! :) I have been costuming since 2007, but in 2010, I decided to learn how to make my own from scratch! I absolutely love creating costumes and building things. 

This costume was created over a period of many months, starting in November 2011 and ending in June of 2012. Most of this costume was constructed when I was 14 years old and it stills inspires me today, and I use everything I've learnt from it now!

Whenever I construct a new costume, I like picking something that I can look at and immediately go, "Okay, I'm going to have to learn this technique and work more on this skill". And that's exactly what this costume brought. For quite a few years, I was heavily into the culture of Japanese rock bands and visual kei because of the unique style and immensely intricate costumes they wore, things you'd never see anywhere else. With that being said, usually these costumes are only worn a few times, or sometimes even just once, for a four minute promotional video. And that's where the first challenge started, trying to gather reference photos to even start this build to make it as accurately as possible. 

I proposed making this costume with my best friend, who would be portraying another member of the band, TsuneHito. We searched all over the internet for hours and hours trying to find any reference to the paintings done on their kimonos, the types of fabrics that were used and the linings, their make up styles, hair styling, etc. I had purchased Japanese magazines that featured these costumes in them so we could get a better look. We really do owe it to our friends who had made these in the past who offered advice to us, because in the end, I think we had maybe 30 photos in total to work from, a lot of those being other costumers!