Sustainability in the SFX community? Is it a thing?

I'm currently a fashion student, but I have always been interested in SFX in many ways. I am particularly interested in silicone casting for prosthetics and animatronics (I was heavily invested in the behind-the-scenes of Jurassic Park, for example).  
I am currently working in a fashion pathway called sustainable systems, which focuses on finding holes or areas of improvement within existing systems. These typically involve topics such as inclusivity, colonization, and climate change, to name a couple. I want to know more about what happens with silicone casts or prosthetics after they have fulfilled their purpose. Are these discarded? Recycled? Does the SFX community even have a problem with sustainability/ a large carbon footprint, given that it can be very niche? Have studios thought about these topics in recent years, given the ecological state of the planet (either in large or small capacities)? 
I would also be interested in hearing if there were any problems regarding sexism and racial or gender inclusivity within the industry. While I was researching the history of SFX, I noticed it was predominantly cis white men, and I am curious if this is still the primary bulk of the workforce.

I know these are rather large questions, but I am having a hard time finding any answers without directly interviewing individuals or simply trying to DM them over various platforms. Any info anyone has would be deeply appreciated!

Kind regards,
Christopher M.

Comments

• When I was in university, one of my courses involved planning a research topic, as if we were to do a postgraduate degree. For my topic, I looked at ways of recycling waste FDM 3D printing filament. This is something I'm curious about, as I frequently 3D print and I'm always looking to reduce the impact I have on the environment.