How can I make a latex mask mold using a 3d print?

Hey so I’m new to mask making and I do 3d modeling with my buddies and I want to make a mask from a movie I saw recently and my buddy did a model for me and I wanted to print it and make it into a latex mask. Is there any method I can use to get a successful result?

I know I will have to sand the piece until it is seamless that’s not the issue. I just don’t know if I should use the hydrocal method since the 3d object is solid but I figured I could heat it up and pull it out that way and I could have a good negative. 

if anyone has a better way or has tried this please let me know I’d greatly appreciate it!

Comments

• It may be a lot of work, but if it were me personally, I would make a silicone “trash” mold with a shell around it and then melt down monsterclay and pour it in the mold, then do your stone mold over that. Others may have a better method but that’s how I’d tackle it. 
  • This is a process I need to start thinking about too. I'm a 3D sculptor, and as enjoyable as working with clay can be (and while I do need to develop my traditional sculpting skills), my best sculpting work is done digitally. 

At the moment I can't be much help except for playing the devil's advocate. I definitely wouldn't suggest melting the plastic down. First and foremost - horrible fumes. Even if you work with one of the least toxic filaments, such as PLA, heating it up is still gonna release a lotta nasties into the air. It's bad enough melting a small patch (like with a soldering iron), but to heat up a whole mask so it's flexible to take out of a mold would be pretty icky. Additionally, the amount of constant heat you would need to warp/melt the plastic could end up dehydrating the plaster/stone too quickly and cracking it.