Options

New Student - Jordu Schell Course - How to Sculpt a Character Maquette - Human Anatomy

edited December 2023 in Sculpture
Hello, I'm new here. My name is Jason and I'm presently in Boise, Idaho. I started learning to sculpt in June of this year, having picked up some Super Sculpey and taking a stab at a maquette. I found a lot of enjoyment in it, and didn't do that bad of a job for my first sculpt.  I've been learning more and joined the Stan Winston School to continue that learning. As a young man I wanted to go into Special Effects, but I had no idea how to go about making that happen. This was back in the 80's - there wasn't all of the helpful posts and videos that are at your fingertips today. Fast forward and I'm making some space in my life to pursue a little bit of that dream.
Anyway, I just wrapped up the sculpture from the Jordu Schell course - the Robert DeNiro Travis Bickel character. That was awesome, and I really enjoyed the tips and examples that Jordu shared. It was helpful. I wanted to share some pics below. I'm ready to do some smoothing, and I've been searching for the best recipe for smoothing it out. I used 99% Isopropyl Alcohol on my last sculpt, but it left a white film on my piece (using Monster Clay medium) that was a pain to get off. Of all the posts I've read about using alcohol, no one has ever mentioned this happening. For this piece I thought I might try mineral oil, but testing it on a small piece of Monster Clay left it too oily and shiny. I've considered mixing the rubbing alcohol with the mineral oil, but I'm not sure. Maybe I should just purchase Isopropyl Myristate or go with something like Turpenoid. Looking for thoughts on this, as well as any constructive crit on my piece. 

Comments

• Options
    Fantastic job on the sculpture!