Options

Wee Dunn | Male Rodian Infant | Star Wars - The Clone Wars | Puppet - Entry #1

Hello everyone,

My name is Alina, I'm a Romanian living in Slovakia. Please excuse this long intro on the first post.
American Studies major and Corporate HR systems admin by day, all kinds of amateur self-taught artist during most of the rest of the time I'm awake. I'm obviously very into DYI, and I apply it to many aspects of my life.

I've been passionate about and constantly modelling things in plasticine (plastilina,) wax scraps, sand, snow, polymer clay, heat and air drying clays and generally just anything that can be used for modelling / sculpting for cheap since a very early age, but I felt I was never particularly good at it.

REcently I found a renewed love for sculpting and I'm now working towards building my portfolio as an artist and hoping to eventually make a shift in career fields.

Last year around August, with a change of job that restored my work-life balance and mainly motivated by the prospect of enhancing my Star Wars and other fandom collections with custom items as much as space allows, making personalized gifts for my friends but also making original portfolio pieces, I decided to try my hand at sculpting again with different types of air dry clays.

I watched a few YouTube video to learn tips to prevent cracking and how to make your own clay recipes, but otherwise I am self-taught.

Then I found an air drying polymer (I think, the label is very generic) modelling foam in a local/regional shop chain, and just fell in love with it, as my main annoyance with clays is that the result is very heavy, and my main annoyance with polymer clay is that it requires an oven and mine was ancient and eventually broke.