Any Chavant smoothing techniques please ? :-)

Hi everyone !

I am trying to sculp these times, and I need some advices please ! 

I am sculpting a medieval corgi, inspired from the original drawing by the artist Nikita Orlov.

I would like to know guys some techniques to smooth the clay and create an even surface, flawless and without asperity (you can check the pictures), by reading 
through the topics, apparently trying to heat the clay is a bad idea and I'd better cool it down.

I've tried different techniques, like rake it, with smaller and smaller tool, brush it with cheap brushes and 99° 
Isopropylic alcohol, but it still doesn't work, I probably don't do it the right way !

Also, I add other pics of my sculpture, I'm still a noob lol so if anyone wants to comment and give opinion and advices, you are more that welcome !

Aaaaand this long post is finally done ! I hope you will enjoy it

Thanks for readind, and please excuse my grammar I'm from France lol

Comments

• Hi Erika,

To smooth a surface like that I would start by using rake tools or a serrated kidney tool to rake the surfaces from all different directions.  This will remove high points and help fill in low points. Repeat the raking process with finer and finer rake tools.

Once that process is done you can smooth the surface further using heat or solvents.  Here are some solvents that work on Chavant.  Naptha, Lighter Fluid, Mineral Spirits, NOVOCS from Smooth-On, Turpentine, and to a lesser extent 99% isopropyl alcohol.  Other solvents will work, that's just a quick list.  When smoothing with solvents I use a chip brush and lightly brush the surface in different directions based on the features I'm trying to smooth.