Homework - Dave VanderWekke

Homework for live workshop student Dave VanderWekke

Comments

• Coming Soon...
    Sorry for the delay.  My thread was just created (my fault).  Will get some work posted tonight. Stay Tuned!
  • Hey everyone, thought I'd put up a quick into.  My name of course is Dave and I grew up in Northern New Jersey, USA.  Next to my name in the dictionary it says, "Breaking Warranties Since 1973". Pretty much starting at the age of 4 (according to my parents) I began taking apart every single toy I owned to see how it worked and somehow managed to put them all back together.

I was lucky growing up because my father worked in a machine shop.  They used to design assembly line robotics. I can remember him bringing home boxes of parts all the time for me to tinker with.  I was always building something for fun, or the science fair or just to creep out my friends (mostly around Halloween).

I studied drafting extensively in High School but when College came about I drifted from Architecture to Mechanical Engineering to Electronic Engineering and eventually settled on Electronic Engineering and Computer Science.  My claim to fame is inventing the first digital (non-chemical) photo booth for a company I co-founded.  Eventually I got burned out on electronics and went into web design and eventually settled back into software engineering which took me on a journey from small company to small company eventually settling in at IBM.  After my tenure at IBM, I went back to working at a small company in North NJ where I am today doing both Electronics Engineering and Software Engineering.

My wife and I are also very big Halloween people.  We've been running a successful 1/2 acre haunt on our property every year since 2009 and have build a bunch of animated props and scenes.