Latex Mask Making: how do I preserve detail and patch a cracked mould?

Hi, 

Sorry if this is not the correct place to post this. I'm looking for some advice on: 

1) What to use (and how) to patch a concrete mould to reconstruct pieces that have broken in the course of setting and then cracking it open;

2) How to reduce the odds of cracks, do a better job at capturing detail and making sure that a mould won't break when filling in tricky areas like a mouth full of teeth. 

This is my first attempt at mask making, largely following the instructions in the guide by Monster Makers, here: 
http://www.monstermakers.com/product/the-monster-makers-mask-makers-handbook-pdf.html

I sculpted this Skeksis-looking creature: 

I then made a concrete mould using Herculite (I'm from the UK, so I used Herculite as a the best alternative I could find to the recommended Ultra Cal). I added strips of burlap to strengthen it:

And wound up with a basic 2 piece concrete mould: 

Unfortunately, there were some pretty big cracks. In particular, the sculpt tore out the concrete around the mouth when I cracked the mould open. Here you can see just how much it took with it:  

So my question is: 

- how do I avoid having this happen again? (It's probably something pretty obvious, but since this is my first attempt I thought I'd better just ask). 

and

- can I use polyfilla to patch the cracks? I'd like to use something that I can sculpt a little before it dries. 

Best Answer

Answers

• Thanks. Would a detail layer of silicone work with latex? Doesn't the latex have to react with the concrete? So if I used silicone, it wouldn't work? 

As far as the second solution goes, I think you're right and I'm pretty sure it would have helped. I should have melted or softened the sculpture - the teeth in particular just ripped some of the more fragile plaster off when I removed it.