Wanting feedback good and bad

Hi I'm jim this is the first class I've watched and participated in. I usually do construction on and of sets. I fell july of 2014 an suffered a brain injury. I became attracted to this website in hopes of having a plan B if I'm told I can't go back to building sets. And if not that's fine to. But I feel I have a talent I never knew I had. Just from sculpting about 10 2" heads 1 Armature and 1 character makeup. 
Post edited by James Miller on

Comments

• Hi James,

Your sculpt is looking great! I'm not a skilled enough sculptor to offer much critique, but it looks like you are off to a fantastic start.  

/Chris
  • Hi James :-)

Thats a great sculpture ;-)

Should it be realistic? Or have you planned to make it funny?

Greets

Kai
  • I'm trying a mix of real and imaginary
  • Like a real version of the old stroy teller from the creepshow comic's. It was a character makeup class but it's my first time sculpting something this size. 
  • I wanna get  into  speed sculpting in hopes of having a future in anything to do with the film business. I did build the sets bet. Now I'm hoping if I had the opportunity to try I'd have the confidence to say ok why not.
  • Kai RottmannKai Rottmann ✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2016
    Hey :-)

For first time doing that size, its really good ;)

I watch classes at SWSCA since march that Year. I am sculpting for some months now.
    The really important essence, which i have breathed in from that classes, are:

1. Look at anatomy/ symmetry/ using reference
    2. Look at proportions
    3. Look at the realistic kind of how the flesh will go and move, when, for example: someone smiles, looking angry, gets older or something like that
    4. "Don`t be fast,... be great" <--- my favorite quote from Jordu Shell
    5. Make things convincing and spend time to it (ears/ earshape, eyes...)