Thinking of joining in and taking classes, but I have a few questions

Hi!

I have been thinking about taking a yearly subscription, but I would like if people with experience with the classes can answer my few questions.
First of all, I'm on a rather tight budget since I am only working part-time. Anyone has an estimate of the costs for materials for sculpting,puppets and mechanical courses? I live in Canada and I'm having a hard time finding some of the materials listed such as WED clay and different types of Foam...I'm completely new at this so I do not have much in hands. I have all the materials required for any drawing classes and a few things for filmmaking (I studied traditional and digital art before) but that's it.
So if all of this is to be a bit too much over my budget, I'll wait or take another kind of subscription.

As I just said, it's all new to me, never did sculpting, puppets or animatronic before, but I am really interested in doing this. Just wondering if these videos are beginner friendly.

I think these are all the questions I have for now, but I would also like if any of you have reviews or feedbacks about Stan Winston school that you could share.

Comments

• Hey Melissa :-)

It really depends on what you are planning to do and which tools and materials are needed. 

1. You could do some Gelatine appliances with brush painting techniques for maybe 100 $ (includes materials like some sculpting tools, oilbased modelling clay, plaster for moulding, makeup) or doing the same appliances in encapsulated
    silicone with airbrush paint for a tool investment of maybe 400$ + 200 $ silicone materials and silicone paint

2. hand operated Foam Puppets for maybe 100 $ or rigged plastic puppets for maybe 300$

3. Latex masks- brush painted for maybe 200$ - 250$ (includes all materials you need) or full silicone masks airbrushed with siliconepaints for 500-800$