Ryu the Argonian

Ryu the Argonian is my avatar from the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. I wanted something that said "Skyrim Argonian" yet "original character."

Approximately 800 hours of work and $500 worth of materials went into creating this character. He was started in August 2017 and finished in July 2018. The outfit features an articulated jaw, blinking eyes, approximately 7" stilts, articulated tail, lizard hands, "follow-me" eyes, and a variety of natural props (animal skulls, feet, horns, and herbs/spices). This was my first time attempting anything this large, and despite the outfit being a bit toasty and uncomfortable, I am very happy with the outcome. Accomplishing this creature creation makes me eager to produce more extravagant characters in the future.

I am new to cosplay, having only started with my first "real" outfit in July 2017. I was able to make articulating wings for Lucifer from "The Devil is a Part-Timer," and after seeing that I could accomplish a large prop in a month, I wanted to see what I could do in a year. It was then that Ryu the Argonian was created.

A variety of materials were used for this cosplay. The base of the head is from DreamVisonCreations. EVA foam, craft foam, and Crayola Model Magic were all used to sculpt the head. The jawset and tongue are also from DVC, but both are hand-painted/airbrushed with acrylic. Both the head base and jawset are resin. The tongue is silicone with added silicone that I sculpted onto it.

The hands are EVA foam and craft foam on a spandex base sewn by myself. Each scale was individually cut out, shaped, sanded with a dremel, then detailed with a wood-burning iron. The claws on both the hands and feet are made out of Wonderflex. The mesh backing was removed from the rest of the material, heated with a heat gun, then shaped like clay.