Death Eater from Harry Potter

Now this was a mission, in all the costume took me 3 weeks to construct and a lot of research and learning new skills. The target was to construct a halloween costume inspired by Lucius Malfoy from the Harry Potter books, dressed up as a Death Eater (follower of bad guy Voldermort).

Here's an action shot of me in the full costume,

At the bottom of the post I've got a photo without the effects so you see all the details.

The mask I made by taking an Alginate cast of a dummy head and then adding plaster bandages to it to give it strength before I cast it in plaster. I then took the plaster cast and added clay to accentuate all the prominent features of the masks from the movies. I wanted to do this as it's my first time making a cast and a bit early to jump into life casting so a good way of me learning how that all works. 

Once I had the clay how I wanted I used Worbla thermal plastic and a heat gun to make a cast of the clay model. And after that dried it was a lot of sanding with the dremel (use a mask to save your lungs) and time to get all the ridges of the thermal plastic smooth enough for painting, detail work and varnishing (3-4 hours).

Next it was the cloak.

I went thru some free templates and modded one I liked to incorporate a liner for the hood. Then it was measuring and a lot of cutting, pinning and about 20 hours of sewing. I added a hem to cloak to hide the bare cuts and give it a professional look.

I'm glad I picked fleece for the fabric as it's not too stretchy and really holds out well outdoors, plus the gold buttons I found make it look like you've just walked off a film set!

Stabbed myself a couple of times with the pins, taking a break every now and then as sewing this much heavy fabric together isn't fun. Did a victory dance when I got to the last stitch.

Next I worked on the Jerkin using faux leather on the outside and fleece on the inside for warmth.