Options

Resizing, Altering and Modifying

Hi

I've just finished my first puppet after watching the course and I must say I'm really pleased with the results. I've made copious notes, dipped in and out of the videos again and picked up a wealth of advice from BJ.

I'd like to take things further and (as noted by BJ) use this pattern and technique as a basis for future designs. I'm still new to this and had never even picked up a needle and thread or built anything from a pattern let alone try to design my own. I've attempted a few other ideas by making alterations, most of which havent worked (so plenty of scrap foam and fabric piled in the corner)

What tips, tricks or advice do you have to change head shape (for example very round like a ball or horizontally squashed like a football) or add certain features (like an elongated chin)? So far I've found that if I insert a couple of inches above the mouth and lengthen the pattern I can get an elongated head (pill shape).

Is there anything I should keep in mind with regard to size ratio's when patterning? For example, making sure the top mouth is the same size as the bottom so they meet? Is there a particular way to create darts in the foam so the head shape is correct? My free hand attempts have been lop sided so far.

I know these are probably very basic questions but I'm still trying to get my head around the 'engineering' side of design without wasting too much foam and fabric.

Thanks in advance

David

Comments

• Options
    Hi David,

Sounds like you are off to a great start!  Making your own patterns can be challenging, but eventually it starts to become second nature.  A big part of that is learning how 3D forms can be unwrapped to create 2D patterns, which can be a bit to get your head around!