Attempting a tricky cast of a hyperhemisphere using dragonskin- looking for alternate materials.

Hi!
This is actually my 1st post, but I've been building models for many years- usually in the course of product design/engineering, but I don't have a forum quite like this in my repertoire so I this will be a nice addition!
Anyway- so what prompted this research is a particularly tricky mold that I have a few questions on.  It's tricky for two major reasons:  
1.  It is a shape sometimes described as a "hyperhemisphere" which is a hemisphere that continues past the centerline creating a big ole' undercut.  Think of a fishbowl, or lightbulb.  Usually something like this would be made in blown glass.  It's basically a hollow sphere with a hole in it (in my case around 30-50% of the diameter).
2. Both the inside and outside of the sphere need to be optically clear surfaces- this is why blown glass doesn't work, too much surface variance and too much distortion.  I'm looking to improve on that.

My solution so far has been to try to mold two rigid patterns in soft materials.  The patterns are accurate optical surfaces and I have been trying to avoid using any release on them for fear of impacting the clarity of the surface.  So far so good in that regard.  You just have wrestle and have some patience to remove the patterns and stretch the molds.  Each sphere pattern also contains a little flange which exists primarily to align them when they are combined.   This way you can locate the smaller (positive) sphere mold  concentrically with the larger sphere (female) sphere mold and when you pour the transparent rigid urethane into the void- voila you have a perfect part! (in theory).