Homework - Katherine Hannaford

Homework for live workshop student Katherine Hannaford

Comments

• G'day from Australia! I am a High School Teacher Librarian by day, but a puppet maker of 15 years experience the rest of the time. I have always been fascinated by mechanisms that create the illusion of life, and I am looking for a new challenge and experience in puppet building, so here I am taking a class that could imitate the movement not only of a neck, but a puppeteer's wrist which is the neck mechanism of a foam puppet.

The journey begins with finding all the parts on the parts list. Being in Australia, McMaster Carr is not an option because they refuse to ship to Australia using both direct shipping and a shipping service. So, for me, this journey began with a sometimes frustrating treasure hunt for the parts. To make life easier for other Australians or international students watching the class on rebroadcast or on-demand, I have attached a PDF document of where I got every single item on the list. 
  • edited March 2017
    During class, I was able to hand cut the servo plate and mark up where the holes were going to be drilled on the plate and the spine backing plate. I was also able to make the 'spud' from the aluminium rod for the top plate.

Immediately after class, I went to the hardware store and bought the last few things to make the build easier for me- especially a set of imperial drill bits!

I used my Dremel drill press stand to drill through the aluminum parts and I assembled everything up until the pinning of the universal joint into the shaft and spud because the dremel doesn't have enough strength to get through. I am hoping to use the drill press in the metal shop of the high school I work at to drill through the top plate and the universal joint.

https://youtu.be/Vt8J7_qXf2c
  • Nice work!
  • Awesome, what you have in the video looks great.

/Chris
  • So, during the week, construction has continued.