Options

Problems painting silicone mask

Hi! I'm having some huge problems with my silicone masks and I though I could get some advice here. I've been painting masks for a few years now, and everything has worked fine until now. I cant get silicone paint to cure at all over my masks (its not a problem with a single mask). I use a mix of naphtha, smooth-on pigments, and either plat-paint or silicone caulk. The mask is made with platsil gel 00. The problem Im having is that, if I apply unthinned silicone on the mask, to fix some spots, it will cure with no problem. But if I thin the silicone (any silicone) with naphtha, then it will remain a slurry mess for ever. However, the one in the cup does cure perfectly!

As I said, it happens both with platinum silicone painting base and silicone caulk. I've washed the masks properly with soap and water, isopropilic alcohol 99.9% and naphtha. Silicone caulk cures on the mask if it goes unthinned, not at all if I thin it. I've painted lots and lots of masks in the past with success, but none of my masks seem to accept any paint now. 

Any idea of what I might be doing wrong?

Comments

• Options
    Try switching from naphtha to NOVOCS gloss. It is a silicone solvent made by Smooth-On. It works well with both platinum silicones being used as paint and also acetoxy-cure silicone adhesives ( most of your standard silicone caulks ). 
    We use a mixture of 4 to 1 milliliters of pigmented NOVOCS to SilPoxy ( smooth-on's silicone adhesive) and it is cured to the touch in about  15 minutes although, I would wait longer for stretching the silicone mask. Once cured, you would be hard pressed to get the paint off with a belt sander.
    Also, make sure the alcohol is completely flashed off the mask. Alcohol will inhibit the cure of platinum silicones and acetoxy cure silicone adhesives. 
  • Options
    "Alcohol will inhibit the cure of platinum silicones and acetoxy cure silicone adhesives. "