Attaching tentacles to the inside of a puppet/costume

Hey Folks,

I'm a novice so I'm not familiar with the proper terms or jargon used in this industry so forgive me if I use an incorrect term or word.

In short, I want to learn how to securely install, connect, attach tentacle mechanisms into an eight-foot tree puppet made of foam so that I can move the two side branches and the roots; the branches and roots will move independently of each other.  (the suit or costume will be worn by a puppeteer)

I've already created a two-foot maquette out of clay and from that I pulled the pattern to make a two-foot version from foam.  I also made a bust so I can make a harness that will mostly carry the weight of the costume/puppet.  Although most of the weight will be from the side branches down, I plan to add wheels to help with the weight if need be.

The expectation is that this tree will be puppeteered from the inside by one person; me, if I find no other takers.  I plan to have the arms of the puppeteer, my arms, fit into the opening of the side branches and then have the tentacle mech fit from where the arm ends to the tip of the branch so only about two feet will be mech; haven't quite figured out how the root section will work, yet.

I’ve watched Richard Landon’s “Cable Mechanism Basics – Tentacles” a couple of times so I get the how to make the tentacles (I also bought the video) and I also watched Amy Whetsel’s “FX Corset Harness Fabrication” because I thought it would show me how to attach the tentacles to the inside of a costume; and, although it didn’t I learned quite a lot by watching her video.

So not sure which lessons will teach me the how-to install, attach, connect the tentacles into a foam body, the way I need them.  The videos I've skimmed over show the mech within a hard shell or body where the moving parts are all managed by a puppeteer outside the suit, not from within.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Peace,
Jose Antonio

Answers

• Hi Jose,