Ordering Flocking Fibers?

I'm back with more questions for my fathier costume, Stardust! This one is about the flocking fibers. I've found the website Flockit.com which most certainly seems like the only website (at least that I can find) that sells the longer flocking fibers for fur.
It appears as though I will have to custom order fibers because the standard length available appears to be too short for fur (looks more like the stuff for landscape miniatures which I assume it is). That said, the custom ordering requires a 1lb minimum and is $100 for each color, of which I'd probably need 4 colors (two shades of tan to blend, black and off-white). That's $400 for what also seems like far more than I would be using anyway, even with practice pieces. Do I have any alternatives for buying or do I just need to save up the $400? I'm a hobbyist right now and Stardust is basically just a character I want to bring to conventions and practice new techniques with, and while I'll be spending quite a bit making her, $400 is a lot of money for JUST her face. I'm willing to save up the cash (though I may put her on the back burner for a while until I'm making more money), but I want to know if it's really my only option before I commit to ordering all of it.

Best Answer

• Answer ✓
    Hy Rayne,

What you have run into is something that is a very common problem for makers, and one I myself run into all the time.  Many manufacturers deal in quantities far larger than we need for individual projects, and this is especially an issue when customization is required.