sculpture question

Good morning all, I am very new to this so looking for a little advice.
I am working on a sculpture, just starting it. I recently purchased the DVD  Sculpture Techniques, textures and forms by Don Lanning. Its an awesome video on the techniques. Mr. Lanning uses and recommends WED Clay for the sculpture. My question is, will this clay work for a finished sculpture and air dry? This will be  sculpted and painted when finished and not used to make a mold of, so I wanted to make sure the WED clay would work or if you all had any thoughts of something else I should use? This is a fairly large sculpture ( head and bust with an armature of wire and foam for the base of the sculpture) so it would not be able to be put in an oven to dry. ) I really appreciate your thoughts, like I said I am new to all of this and learning. Have a great day, I look forward to hearing from you.

Answers

• Hi Cliff,

I love Don's sculpting lessons, he's really helped me up my sculpting game to something almost passable!

As WED clay is a water based clay (with a bit of glycerin added to slow drying) it will eventually dry out on you.  When it dries out it shrinks and starts to crack, so your sculpt will become brittle and start to fall apart on you.

If you want to sculpt something that will be the final display piece (without molding and casting) I would suggest something like super sculpey, which you can see Csey Love use in this lesson:  https://www.stanwinstonschool.com/tutorials/creature-design-digital-to-practical

Happy sculpting!

/Chris
  • Chris,
    Thank you for the advice. I really appreciate it. I will give it a try. Have  great day
    Cliff
  • Hey Cliff!

I started out using Super Sculpy  as Chris mentioned and have had great results. However a couple of tips for you ...